Princess Cake

barbiecake

The day after she turned 4, my daughter asked me to make her a blue princess cake for her 5th birthday. I knew then that I wanted to do a doll cake. I found a lot of tutorials on youtube, but I found this one extremely helpful : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1IIHSerB64&list=PL5F7E3F8E378D1516&src_vid=r3TSutweRe4&feature=iv&annotation_id=annotation_642574. For the base/dress, I use 8 and 7 inch round pans and 6 inch ball pan to get the domed shape. For the bodice of the dress, I had to get creative. I don’t own any impression mats, so I used a lace doily to imprint the design and give it some depth. I also made some mini cupcakes topped with fondant tiaras. As party favors, I decided to make crown-shaped sugar cookies.

tiara cookies

Leave a Reply

